There are loads of products marked vegan these days but lots aren’t that are suitable for vegans. My favourite example is probably Oreos (Yes I know, Palm oil…)
Staples. The most common and essential vegan items
- Pasta (dry): most dried pasta is made without egg and is therefore 100% vegan
- Baked Beans (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Tinned/Canned Spaghetti (original recipe, without cheese or sausages etc.)
- Most yeast extracts like Marmite and Vegemite
- Most fresh bread is vegan and Ciabatta, by its very nature, is always vegan as it is made with olive oil
- Peanut Butter
- Tomato Sauce/Ketchup
- HP/Brown sauce
- Bisto Gravy: Original, Reduced Salt, Vegetable and Onion
- Mustard: whether it’s Dijon, wholegrain, English or American
- Branston Pickle
- Hot sauces like Tabasco and Sriracha
- Rice noodles: when ordering a Chinese takeaway, just ask for rice rather than egg noodles
- Jam: typically made with pectin (to thicken) rather than gelatin
- Chips/French fries: if cooked in veggie oil then they are vegan!
- Porridge/Oatmeal: when made with water or plant milk
- Crumpets: Warburtons, Tescos and Sainsbury’s are all vegan
The good stuff
- Doritos: Chilli Heatwave and Lightly Salted
- *Oreos: * Oreos have milk as cross-contact, but it is not included as an ingredient, so they are suitable for vegans.
- Fox’s: Dark Chocolate Chunkie Cookies, Party Rings
- Co-op Jam, and custard doughnuts
- Bird’s Custard (when made with plant milk)
- Walkers Crisps: Ready Salted, Salt and Vinegar, Pickled Onion, Prawn Cocktail, Worcester Sauce, Crinkles Simply Sea Salted, Chipsticks Salt ‘n’ Vinegar Flavour, Sensations Lime & Coriander Chutney Poppadoms, Sensations Balsamic Vinegar & Caramalised Onion, Sunbites Sweet Chilli, Sunbites Original, Sausage and Brown Sauce
- Pringles: Original, Paprika, BBQ and Smokey Bacon
- Mr Kipling: Treacle Tart, Jam Tarts, Apple and Blackcurrant Pies
- McVities: Fruit Shortcakes, Original and Choc Chip Hobnobs, Gingernuts, Light Rich Tea
- Ritz Crackers: Original, Crisp and Thin (Salt & Vinegar)
- Sainsbury’s Cream Crackers
- Nairn’s Oatcakes: Dark Chocolate Chip
- Lidl’s Bramley Apple Pies
- Belvita Breakfast ‘Tops’: Choco Hazelnut
- Sainsbury’s Chicken Flavour Instant Noodles
- Kettle Chips: Sea Salt, Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar and Cracked Pepper
- Guinness Rich Beef Chilli Thick Cut Potato Chips (yes, really!)
- MacSween Vegetarian Haggis
- Ritter Sport chocolate: Marzipan
- Skittles: E120/carmine/cochineal has been removed from the ingredients list in the UK. Only a few old packets (with E120) still exist. So if a pack is marked ‘Suitable for vegetarians’ then it will be vegan and safe to eat!
- Millions: All flavours except Chocolate Strawberry
- Snyder’s Jalapeno Pretzels
- Jus Rol: Gluten-free Puff Pastry, Pan Au Chocolat, Croissants and Cinnamon Swirls
- Tesco Apple Strudel
- Tesco Chocolate And Hazelnut Filled Mini Churros
- Bourbon Biscuits: most brands, but always check the label first.
Note: Ingredients can differ from brand to brand, so do not assume just because an item is vegan in one store that it will be in another.
*If you see any new accidentally vegan products feel free to add a comment, you can even add a picture and where to buy if that’s easier.
Let me know what you think in the comments or tweet me @veganbabelife
Thanks for reading!